Surgery

Good news, the clogged duct in my left breast took care of it’s self Monday morning.  I can’t even tell you how much better I felt after, I could hardly sleep Sunday because of the pain so it was a relief to have it gone.

The surgeon today said she will operate on Friday morning to take the abscess out.  From the way she was talking, Jeremy and I both had the opinion that if she’d seen me last week before they attempted to drain it she would have done the surgery earlier.  I guess next time I’ll call the surgical office and push harder myself.  I probably made it sound like I was feeling much better than I actually was when I spoke to the woman who called to make the appointment.  The doctor that drained it last week called me about the cultures they ran on the fluid he extracted.  It was a “raging Staph infection”.  The strain was resilient to the first antibiotic (duh) but the second one it’s “sensitive” to.  I’ll most likely continue to be on the antibiotics for a while after the surgery as well.  If only they didn’t give me a foul taste in my mouth every morning.  Apparently he was surprised I didn’t have more symptoms of the infection earlier on and that I never got a high temperature.  He was relieved to hear that the surgeon wanted to just go in and remove the entire mass, hopefully that way the infection will not spread.

It’s an outpatient surgery.  Because of the Cardiomyopathy they won’t put me under completely unless I really push for it.  I have been going back and forth on what I want to do.  She says even when you’re “awake” with the amount of medication they give you, the patient usually sleeps through the procedure anyway.  I just don’t know, on the other hand I handled the draining ok.  However with the draining they weren’t cutting me open as large and cutting things out of me.  She said she will take out the abscess as well as the surrounding tissue but that I won’t miss it.  I’m not sure if she said that because I have large breasts or if it’s because I truly won’t notice.  Like most women one of my breasts is smaller than the other.  My luck (ha ha) is that my right breast is the smaller of the two, and now possibly it will be getting even smaller.  I already struggle more than most can understand to purchase bra’s, and spend a small fortune when I do find one that works.  I never thought I’d care so much but I guess I have more of an attachment to my breasts than I thought I would. eh, oh well.

I contemplated stopping pumping.  I’m sure most of you wouldn’t blame me.  I’ve been advised however that it wouldn’t be smart until after the surgery starts to heal, and since they leave part of it open for a while that’s not going to be anytime soon.  Considering how painful pumping was after they just drained it, I’m not looking forward to pumping Friday evening.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

