You Must Be Kidding

This evening my left breast started to hurt.  It came on quickly, within an hour.  It must be a clogged duct.  I just wish I could get the right one taken care of!  JD no longer nurses so I can’t have him help me to unclog it and my hand pump doesn’t have half the suction power as the electric pump I just returned.  I’ve tried icing it and it actually makes it feel better but I’m sure doesn’t help unclog it.  I’m going to try a warm shower next.  If anyone has any pointers please pass them along to me.  The last thing I want is for this one to turn into Mastitis too, we all know how that’s worked for me on the other breast.  Speaking of the right one… I meet with the surgeon on Tuesday.  I convinced Jeremy to go with me so I don’t have to be alone.  I’m curious what will happen.

On a non boobie note: JD is sleeping SO WELL!  Trish said that last night he slept for 7.5 hours for them.  I’m hoping he gives us a repeat performance tonight.

3 Responses

  1. YAY for JD sleeping so well. 🙂
    Sorry about the troubles with the clog ducts…so no fun. 😦

  2. That sounds DANG painful. I, obviously, haven’t had, like milk issues. Other than, DRINKING it, and it wasn’t breast milk. But it SOUNDS really ouchie. I am so sorry.

  3. I haven’t been in this situation yet, but I remember my mom giving my sister advice when she was dealing with this. Ahem:

    Don’t let your boobies get cold! That makes the milk harder to pass out and causes clogged ducts (could be an old wive’s tale, who knows). Also, to clear it out soak a towel in hot-as-you-can-stand-it water and then put it on your booby. When it cools, replace it with another hot towel. This has been proven to help from sisters who actually developed mastitis and took care of it with towels. Since hot towels clear it up, that sort of backs up the theory about cold causing it. Right?

    I know from your later posts that you’ve already gotten this cleared up, but just in case it happens again. That’s my advice.

Leave a Reply

