The Draining

My doctor decided to drain the abscess today before I meet with the surgeon next week.  It would be nice if we could avoid major surgery.  This is kind of icky, I warned you.

He started out by numbing the area.  Then he made a small incision and began to attempt to drain the abscess with a needle in the incision.  At first he was getting a lot of blood mixed in with the puss.  After a bit of probing he found the mother-load of all puss pockets (gag).  After filling 5 syringes it just started to gush out of the incision.  Mom said it was one of the most disgusting things she’s ever seen.  She said it was like a huge zit that just kept popping with green puss.  The nurse was just enthralled and loved the entire thing.  The doctor and nurse agreed that they have never seen an abscess quite like it.  I guess that’s a good thing that they don’t have a lot of women with abscesses while nursing.

  It took a bit longer than we all expected.  He found another “pocket” and had to drain it also.  He says the size of the infected area is much smaller now, but he didn’t sound super confident that it was all gone.  After I was cleaned up a bit they took this accordion like piece of gauze and shoved it in the incision so that it would continue to drain.  They can’t stitch it up so it will continue to clear out, so there will be a small scar.  I honestly don’t care because no one will ever see it besides Jer and I’m positive he doesn’t care.  I have gauze pads to cover the area and I’m supposed to change them often so I don’t soak through them.  After a few days I’m supposed to pull the accordion gauze out if it doesn’t fall out before then.  I’m not sure I’m going to be able to do that if it starts to hurt when I pull on it.  I may just close my eyes, scream and yank.  I don’t know… I’m kind of stressing about it and I might not even have to do it!

The doctor kept asking if I was in a lot of pain.  While I was in some pain (he was pushing very hard at times) I was numbed and so it wasn’t too bad.  He was shocked and told me that “grown men with less of an abscess have cried.”  I wish I could say I’m super tough, I just think he did a good job with the medication.  By the time I was home I was feeling it so much that just pumping made me cry and I couldn’t even hold JD with my right arm.  Part of my breast where he was pushing is already turing purple so I can only imagine what it will look like tomorrow.  I’ll be honest I’m not looking forward to the morning and the pain it might bring, but if it helps me avoid major surgery then YAY!

Moral of this whole story…. if you have a lump while breastfeeding and it doesn’t go away within a few days call the Doctor.  Don’t wait three weeks, because then it could be another week or two before they figure out what to do and by then it’s messy and painful.

7 Responses

  1. Goodness, Bobbie! Surely draining all of that will make you feel some better.

    Hope you feel better soon and avoid surgery!

  2. I hope none of us have to face that moral of your story.

  3. YUUUCK! GROOOOOS! IIIICKY! and so sorry you have to go through this stuff….hope you feel better soon.

  4. EEWWW-you just descibing it…was like we were there! I hope you feel better quickly! NO FUN! 😦

  5. K, I really shouldn’t stuck with pre-med because I was as enthralled as that nurse. I love gross body stuff (except face surgery. I can’t handle face surgery).
    Anyway, I love you and I’m so sorry you have to go through this.

  6. I’m glad it was *just* an abscess. My sister-in-law’s sister-in-law developed necrosis in her breast very quickly … your story started out a lot like hers and I was freaking out. She had to have a partial mastectomy … after 3 surgeries, they let her go home from the hospital.

    You’re not the only weird medical case. 😉

    Hope the pain subsides soon!

  7. hope everything is okay soon Bob. Sounds really painful!

Leave a Reply

