He Sleeps!

For those of you that haven’t read my personal blog: I do have to have the “lump” taken out of my right breast.  They found out that it is an abscess and the thought of having surgery sucks, however the pain being gone is an exciting thought.

img_0493.jpg

Tonight my sister Trish is hanging out with me.  We put JD down in his crib at 11:00pm.  I put him on his tummy since we were going to stay in the room for a while.  Last night we learned that he falls asleep a lot faster if he’s on his tummy.  When I would leave the room after pumping I would roll him over onto his back.  He slept in 3 hour chunks last night.  He’s been on his tummy all night tonight and guess what… he’s been asleep for 5.5 hours and counting!  We have stayed up watching TV and chatting and the little guy is still sleeping.  It would make sense since I’m not sleeping too right?  Har har har.  He will grunt every once in a while and I think he’s starting to wake up to eat and then he’ll just stop and sleep more.  Looks like the problem has been that he doesn’t like sleeping on his back .  I’m not sure what to do.  I think I’ll call the nurse on Monday and get some suggestions.  We’ve really tried about everything, but you never know.  It’s amazing how since Trish put him on his tummy last night he’s gone to sleep faster and now longer too.  I’m just not sure I feel comfortable leaving him on his tummy when I’m not awake and in the same room.  Ugh… what to do, what to do. 

 GOOD thing that the kiddo and Jeremy are getting a full night sleep since I haven’t slept a wink yet and I’m sure I’ll be sleeping a bit tomorrow.  Because I haven’t gone into the bedroom at all Jer is probably getting the best night sleep he’s had in almost 7 weeks.  No baby monitor, no baby, and no mommy getting up to check on the baby.  Poor Jer is such a light sleeper, and I’m a heavy sleeper.  He often has to nudge me awake after JD has been crying for a while. 

KK is asleep on my couch and I think Trish just dozed off on the floor.  Maybe I’ll catch a snooze too.  I’m sure JD will wake up about 15 minutes after I doze off but I don’t care.  I’m proud of his 5+ hours of sleep!! 

[[JD just woke up.  5 hours and 45 minutes, it’s a record people!]]

2 Responses

  1. I miss my sleep. Thank goodness this time only lasts for a relativly short time, all though it seems like forever!

  2. My kids all sleep better on their tummies. I start just letting them sleep on their tummy after they are 6 weeks old. I’ve never had a premie so I don’t know if that increases the risk for SIDS. My brother got a SIDS monitor for their baby so they could relax and let him sleep on his tummy without worrying, it monitors their movement and an alarm goes off if they stop moving for too long. To me a good night’s sleep is priceless.

Leave a Reply

