My Boob Hurts

There is no gentle way to put it. My right breast hurts so much right now I am thinking of personally cutting it off. It all started about 3 weeks ago. I thought I had a clogged duct. Well the lump I thought was the clog never went away. I would push on it and try everything people told me and it stuck around. It not only stuck around it started to get bigger and hurt. I finally made an appointment to get it looked at and I was told it was Mastitis and that I really shouldn’t have waited so long to have it looked at. I was given antibiotics but after 3 days and the pain getting worse I called the doctor and told him there had been no improvement. I could now see the effected area when I looked in the mirror because the skin is reddish/purplish. At this point he switched the antibiotic and gave me pain medication as well, then shot me in the tush with even more medication. He measured the “lump” and it had grown to 8.5 cm by 6.5 cm. I was told my bra was too tight and that could cause problems since I’m breastfeeding. It made me want to cry since we’ve been trying to get bigger bra’s, even special ordered some and they never came… anyway… ya… so I’m discouraged.

It’s been 4 days since starting the new antibiotic and guess what. NO improvement at all. The doctor is starting to wonder if it’s another kind of infection or even if it’s turned into an abscess. I’m not thrilled about this prospect since from what I’ve found online they talk about how the best thing to do is have it taken care of surgically since it often comes back if just drained with a needle. HOWEVER as each day goes by and the pain gets worse I’m feeling more and more desperate. I still have to pump on that side, and if I don’t do it every 3 hours I start to feel it big time. Overall I’m not feeling 100% anymore and that’s so frustrating since I’d been feeling so well the past couple weeks. I have a breast ultrasound on Friday, and hopefully that will shed some light on the situation. The doctor is also doing a culture on some of the milk from that breast, the results from that should be ready soon also. I feel like a medical nightmare. Some people catch colds, I catch rare diseases. I could wallpaper our room with medical bills right now.
GOOD news is JD is wonderful and such a good boy. My only complaint is that he is still only giving us 2-3 hour chunks of sleep at night. Since I’m exclusively pumping now it can make for some long nights. I want to start trying to stretch him out longer but Jer is a light sleeper so it will require me getting his big crib cleaned out (it’s full of clothes and blankets) in his room so that I can have him out of our room. Quite frankly I don’t have the energy the past couple days to get it done. Maybe tomorrow? My mom once had a doctor tell her that once a baby is 2 months old or 10 pounds and healthy they have the ability to sleep through the night. I’m just asking for maybe a good consistent 4-5 hours but hey, I’d take all night too. 🙂 Good news is that his room is finally coming together thanks to Steph’s sister offering us a love seat. Our full couch in that tiny room was a nightmare and it is so nice to have more space and a better layout, not to mention that the new couch is WAY more comfier than the old one.

3 Responses

  1. Oh Boobie! Haha. (biggest boobies in the world) That just stinks. I hope that they find something that will help out the situation.

    As for the sleeping through the night thing, I really like to wait till they are 3 months old. I don’t know I just can’t do it at 2 months. I just keep thinking that helpless thing. By 3 I was so done with not getting my sleep that the 3 or 4 nights of crying didn’t bother me as much. If you do try that, then you do have to be strong and not walk in their room even once. If they even see you then they get even more upset.

  2. Yep…we were pretty mean parents when it came to the making them sleep throught the night thing too, 2 months or 9 lbs. was what I was told. Zan and Mick ended up being straved at the 7 week mark. But after just three days, life was much more pleasant!

    Kristin did tell me one morning that “the baby cwying at night.”

  3. Oh Bobbie! Hope you get that taken care of soon! Painful, no doubt. Eeeep.

Leave a Reply

